Welcome About Us History of Log House Inside Log House Upcoming Events Archives Contact Us Links

Pioneers West Historical Society ©2014, All rights Reserved.

About Us

The purposes of this organization are to assist in the preservation of the Walker-Ewing Log House located at 1355 Noblestown Rd., Oakdale (Collier Twp.), Pennsylvania, detailing its history and to work with other similar organizations to help educate the public as to history of the pioneer frontier settling of Western Pennsylvania. It is organized as a Pennsylvania non-profit organization and classified by the Internal Revenue Service as a tax-exempt private operating  foundation under Section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue  Code of 1986, as amended.

The Society has focused its efforts on the restoration and

preservation of the c.1762 -1790 Walker-Ewing log house

located on Noblestown Rd. in Collier Township, Allegheny

County, PA situated on .9 acres.

In October, 1973, Mrs. Jane Ewing Rovensky Grace, a

descendant of the original owners, and her husband,

Robert Grace, gifted the property on which is situated the

log house to the Pittsburgh History and Landmarks  Foundation

(PHLF). In April, 1975, Mr. & Mrs. Grace gifted a contiguous

piece of property to the PHLF. The log house, on January 30, 1976

was listed on the U. S. National Register of Historic Places.

On August 5, 1998, Mr. and Mrs. Grace purchased back the property (both parcels) from the PHLF  and then, on October 14, 1998, the Graces gifted the property to the Pioneers West Historical Society.

These two gifted parcels and the log house comprise the property now maintained by the Society.

Membership in the Society is open to all individuals and organizations interested in promoting the

purpose of the Society with annual dues of, presently, $5.00. The Society operates through elected Officers and a Board of Directors with membership meetings held at least quarterly and normally at the Walker-Ewing House.

The following are the Officers and Directors of the Pioneers West Historical Society:


Jerry Andres


Mary Lou Kientz

Vice President

Bob Glass


Amy Lawrence


Frank Petrich


Theresa Locke

Corresponding Secretary

Debbie Lynch


Don Tarbert

Recording Secretary

Debbie Lynch

Pioneers West Historical Society - By-Laws - Revised 2-20-16.pdf